Dr.D.Y. Patil Sports Academy wins S.P.. Baruah Trophy

GUWAHATI, Sept 21– DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai became the proud winners of the SP Barooah Trophy prize-money cricket tournament organised by the Assam Cricket Association.

Dr.D.Y. Patil Sports Academy wins S.P.. Baruah Trophy

In the final match of the second edition of the championship at the NF Railway Stadium, Maligaon here today, the Mumbai team trounced Assam Red with better run rate as the match had to be called off.

Assam Red chasing a target of 181 in 50 overs set by DY Patil SA, were tottering at 63 for seven after 25.1 overs when the match was abandoned due to heavy rain.

Opting to bat first, DY Patil boys piled up a commendable total of 180 losing nine wickets in the stipulated 50 overs. Man-of-the match Shoieb Shaikh was the top scorer with 59 while Viswajit Solanki and Anupam Sanklecha added 29 and 19 respectively. For Assam, Arup Das was the top wicket taker with three scalps while Ranjit Mali took two.

Sib Sankar Roy was the only notable contributor for Assam Red with 22 as all other batsmen miserably failed to tackle the opponent bowlers. Vineet Sinha and Iqbal Abdullah took three and two Assam wickets respectively. Assam Red captain Dhiraj Jadav, who did not play today, was adjudged man-of-the series. The winning team pocketed Rs 1 lakh as prize money while the runners-up got Rs 50,000.

In the closing function, veteran sports organiser Dr Tapan Dutta, ACA secretary Bikash Baruah, treasurer Ghanashyam Baruah, joint secretaries Bishnuram Nunisa, Umananda Bora, assistant secretary Sanatan Das, GB member Viswanath Saha were present and they gave away the prizes to the teams and individuals.

Dr. DY Patil T20 Cup

10th All India Dr. DY Patil T20 Cup

Match Passes Available at the Stadium Gate

About D.Y. Patil T20 Cup >>
View Live Scores
View Tournament Schedule


Dypsa White Jersey

Stadium Guide-Virtual tour

Video Corner

  • Vijay Patil Interview
  • Shaun Pollock
  • Adam Gilchrist
  • Ajay Jadeja
  • Ravi Shastri
  • Gilchrist memorable knock
  • Lalit Modi